Published Books and Other Writings

Here you will find my currently published books, links to my other writings, and links to work by my current and former students.

The list of my currently published books is here.
Links to my other writings are here.
Links to my students’ writings are here.

Currently Published Books:

The Floating World

A fever dream set in Tokyo’s night world, The Floating World tells the story of a young American dancer losing herself as she surrenders to the seductions of a foreign culture.

“Read this beautiful novel slowly, the way you would eat a ripe pear. The results are the same: a delightful nourishment that engages all the senses.” (San Francisco Chronicle)

Purchase The Floating World at Amazon.

If you like tea, please check out this artisanal blend that a reader created after reading The Floating World. It is available here in Etsy.com.

The Demimonde in Japanese Literature: Sexuality and the Literary Karyukai

Japan’s pleasure quarters, or karyukai, flourished for centuries, inspiring codes of etiquette, beauty standards, fashion and other cultural trends, and some of the national literature’s canonical works. By the mid-twentieth century, the physical space of the pleasure quarters had been decimated, first by World War II and then by the outlawing of prostitution in 1956, but its dying world continues to be immortalized in some of Japan’s most exciting books, films, and art works.

This academic monograph surveys a variety of texts from modern Japanese and world literature that celebrate the last gasps of the demimonde, along with avant-garde films, dance performances, and photographs. Including material previously not translated into English, The Demimonde in Japanese Literature explores some of the most notorious, erotic, and fiendishly subversive masterworks of the twentieth century.

Purchase The Demimonde in Japanese Literature at Amazon.

Copyright © Cynthia Gralla, 2017


Other Writings

“The Man in White Underwear Thinks I’m Crazy”: https://therealstory.org/2020/02/21/the-man-in-white-underwear-thinks-im-crazy-by-cynthia-gralla

“Olga Tokarczuk and Polish Literature’s Home Army”: https://www.asymptotejournal.com/blog/2019/11/04/olga-tokarczuk-and-polish-literatures-home-army/

“Literary Lists Are Records of Female Desire”: https://electricliterature.com/literary-lists-are-records-of-female-desire/

“Ten TV Shows Guaranteed to Get You Elected President or Prime Minister”: https://www.thesatirist.com/satires/ten-tv-shows-guaranteed-to-get-you-elected-president-or-prime-minister.html

“The Lost Voice”: http://storysouth.com/stories/the-lost-voice-a-florida-fairy-tale/

“How Women Writers Are Reinventing Freud”: https://electricliterature.com/how-women-writers-are-reinventing-freud-machado-yuknavitch-tokarczuk/

“The Harvest Festival”: https://www.octoberhillmagazine.com/archives

“The New National Literature of Canada Is Being Written by Women”: https://electricliterature.com/the-new-national-literature-of-canada-is-being-written-by-women/

“9 Fashionable Books That Make Clothes a Main Character”: https://electricliterature.com/9-fashionable-books-that-make-clothes-a-main-character/

“Case Study of a Psychiatrist in the Freudian Style”: https://www.thesatirist.com/satires/case-study-of-a-psychiatrist-in-the-freudian-style.html

“Kusama Yayoi: Pop Goes the Disease”: https://bodyliterature.com/2019/03/22/cynthiagralla/

“Suicide Contagion and the Risks of Literature”: https://medium.com/the-coil/suicide-contagion-and-the-risks-of-literature-cynthia-gralla-413f0e3fe483?source=friends_link&sk=21d1a546348e33bf333212f8b6439628

“Dream Girls Gotta Have Agency”: https://electricliterature.com/dream-girls-just-wanna-have-agency-f7bd4a695243

“Reading Sickness”: https://entropymag.org/reading-sickness/

My 2001 Articles for Salon in Chinese: http://wenxue.iqiyi.com/book/detail-18l2hdz925.html


My Students’ Writings

Coming soon


Copyright © Cynthia Gralla, 2018